Organisations

What’s a Snyk organisation?

An organisation groups projects, and can have team members who can access these projects.

When you sign up to Snyk, you’ll see you have a default organisation, named like your GitHub username. Any projects you add via the CLI or via GitHub integration will appear in this organisation by default.

You can create an organisation, or join one via invitation. If you have more than one organisation, you can switch between organisations via the web UI or in the CLI.

Notifications about newly disclosed vulnerabilities are per organisation; you can turn them on and off per organisation.

Snyk pricing works per organisation, so e.g. you can have your own default organisation on a free plan, while being a member of an organisation your company pays for.

Creating a new organisation

You can have an unlimited number of organisations on Snyk. Each organisation can be on a different pricing plan.

To create a new organisation, choose the ‘Create’ link in the drop-down in the top navigation. You can then name the organisation and start a trial.

Create organisation

Switching between organisations

On snyk.io

  • Choose the organisation you want from the drop-down menu in the top navigation.
  • If you add projects on snyk.io via GitHub integration, they will be added to the currently chosen organisation.

In the Snyk CLI

  • If you have only your default organisation, any projects you add or update by running snyk wizard or snyk monitor will be automatically associated with your default organisation.
  • If you have more than one organisation, you can configure which organisation newly added projects should be associated with by running snyk config set org=orgname. Note: orgname should match the name as displayed in the URL of your org in the snyk UI: https://snyk.io/org/[orgname].
  • If you would like to override this global configuration for individual runs of snyk wizard or snyk monitor, run snyk monitor --org=orgname or snyk wizard --org=orgname.

Managing organisations

In the ‘Manage organisation’ section, you can:

  • see how many private, public and inactive projects are in the organisation.
  • see and manage team members.
  • manage billing (administrator users only).
  • leave this organisation.
  • delete this organisation (administrator users only).

Collaborating with team members

Go to the ‘Members’ tab in the ‘Manage organisation’ section to invite new team members.

  • The Free plan only has administrators.
  • The Pro and Enterprise plan have administrators and collaborators.

Team members

User permissions within an organisation Administrator Collaborator
Add/delete projects x x
Update project with new snapshot x x
Delete snapshot from project history x x
Invite/remove team members x
Change team members’ roles x
Manage plans and billing for this organisation x
Leave organisation x x
Delete organisation x

An organisation can have multiple administrators. When you create an organisation, you will automatically be an administrator on this organisation. If you want to downgrade to collaborator, or leave this organisation, the organisation has to have at least one other administrator.

Note: you will always be the administrator of your default organisation, and you can’t leave or delete this organisation.