Documentation

Groups

What’s a Snyk group?

Groups is a Pro and Enterprise Plan only feature that makes it easier for you to work within teams. Groups can hold many organisations, and each organisation can contain many collaborators.

As well as creating organisations within your enterprise groups, you can also create them within your own personal group. This is ideal if you want to monitor your own personal projects outside of your enterprise’s group, or if you want a sandbox to play with.

Creating a new group

As part of your Snyk on-boarding, we will set you up with a group for your enterprise. You can then add your enterprise’s organisations to the group. If you think you will need multiple groups please email support@snyk.io

Creating a new organisation within a group

Within a group, you can create organisations. To add a new organisation within your group, click the “Create a new organisation” link in the organisation switcher.

Organisation switcher screenshot.

This will let you choose a name for your organisation.

Creating a new grouped org screen.

If you do not see the “Create a new organisation” link you do not have the “group admin” permission set on your account. Email support@snyk.io to ask to have the have the permission set.

Copying settings, integrations and policies to a new org

Group admins have the ability to copy org settings from an existing org to a new one, so that integrations, policies and settings that are the same for multiple orgs can be set up once and copied across to newly created orgs. This is possible via our API, or in the UI.

Creating a new grouped org screen with copy settings.

Under the heading “copy across all settings and integrations”, there is a dropdown containing a list of all orgs within your group. By default, it is set to “do not copy”, and will not copy any settings across. Selecting an org will clone all settings from that org to the one you’re creating.

The settings that are copied across will include any integrations you have set up in that org, license policies, ignore policies, and language settings. This action will not copy across members, service accounts, projects, or notification preferences.

Note that copying across settings from an org will not keep the copied settings in sync between orgs. For example, if you change the license policy in the cloned org, these changes will not be reflected in the original org. After the creation stage, they are treated as completely separate entities.

Switching between groups and orgs

To access your groups and organisations, click on the navigation switcher. The avatars displayed on the left are your groups, and the list on the right are the organisations that are within the group.

Screenshot of the navigation switcher

Clicking the avatar on the bottom of the switcher will display the organisations within your personal group. (This may not be visible to you depending on your enterprise’s setup.)

Group overview

The group overview area allows you to view reports across all of your group’s organisations, and configure your group settings.

Settings

Within the group overview, you can also view all of a group’s members. Note that these aren’t members of your organisations (who are managed within the organisation’s settings area), but are members who can access all organisations within that group.

Combined reports

From the group overview, the vulnerability status of all of a group’s organisations are visible in one place as a report. You can select which organisations you wish to compare via the filter dropdown. This will set the context for all the tabs within the reports, where you can continue to filter other values such as type, status and package manager.

Filtering reports by organisation

Quick Filters

If there’s a view you refer to frequently, you can save this as a Quick Filter.

Saving quick filters